World Heritage Sites

World Heritage Sites are natural or cultural sites that are so particular, so beautiful, so unique to be considered by UNESCO of “Universal Value”. These sites belong to all people of the world and must be protected.

World Heritage Sites can be ancient ruins, buildings, monuments, cities, but also natural landscapes such as forests, lakes, islands, mountains… Whatever the shape, size and form it requires efforts to survive over time.

A World Heritage Site is considered an “irreplaceable source of life and inspiration” and this is why UNESCO offers technical and emergency assistance for sites in danger and provides funds to facilitate its conservation.

Today there are over 1,100 World heritage Sites in the world. The World heritage Committee meets once a year to decide which sites can be included in the World heritage List, to look at State Conservation reports, to control if Sites are in properly managed and to decide which sites are in danger.

Living in or near a World heritage Site is a fortune and a prestige. The local population around a site may benefit in terms of tourism.

In the UK there are 30 UNESCO World Heritage Sites: 25 cultural, 4 natural and 1 mixed cultural and natural.

They are distributed in all the 4 countries of the Kingdom: Scotland, England, Wales and Northern Ireland. Up to 2021 they were 31 but Liverpool was removed and Stonehenge risks to be removed too.

It is our civivic responsibility to respect and honor the heritage and traditions of not only our own communities but also those of others.

Vote DownVote Up (No Ratings Yet)


Sara Miceli


II B – Furci Siculo


Looking back on my recent trip to Malta, I was enveloped in a world of captivating history, vibrant culture, and breathtaking natural scenery in the

Leggi Tutto »


If you are planning a trip to Malta, you will be surprised! This small island is packed with history, culture, and stunning landscapes. Here are

Leggi Tutto »