The Valley of the Temples is an archaeological park in Sicily characterized by an exceptional state of conservation and a series of important Doric temples from the Hellenic period. Since 1997 the entire area has been included in the UNESCO World Heritage List. It is considered a popular tourist destination, as well as being the symbol of the city and one of the main ones on the island, it is one of the largest archaeological sites in the Mediterranean. The Valley of the Temples is characterized by the remains of eleven temples in Doric order, three sanctuaries, a large concentration of necropolis, hydraulic works, fortifications; part of a Roman Hellenistic quarter built on a Greek plan; two important meeting places: the lower Agora (not far from the remains of the temple of Olympian Zeus) and the upper Agora, an Olympeion and a Bouleuterion (council chamber) from the Roman period on a Greek plan.The temples present in the ancient city areTemple of Hera Lacinia, or temple of Juno, set on fire in 406 by the Carthaginians.Temple of Concordia, whose name derives from a Latin inscription found near the same temple.Temple of Heracles, or Temple of Hercules.Temple of Olympian Zeus, built after Himera’s victory over the Carthaginians (480-479) to honor Zeus. It was the largest temple in all of the ancient West.Temple of the Dioscuri or temple of Castor and Pollux.Temple of Hephaestus or Temple of Vulcan.Temple of Athena.Temple L.Temple of Asclepius, or Temple of Aesculapius.Temple of Demeter and the rock sanctuary of Demeter.The Valley of the Temples also hosts the so-called tomb of Terone, a large pyramid-shaped monument of tuff, which is thought to have been erected to commemorate the fallen of the Second Punic War.Many remains have been found in our days.

Vote DownVote Up (No Ratings Yet)


Aranci Alessio




My stay in Malta was a captivating voyage through history, culture, and natural splendor. From the vibrant charm of St. Julian’s to the timeless allure

Leggi Tutto »


Embark on an exploration of Malta’s top attractions, nestled in the heart of the Mediterranean.Experience the island’s rich history, stunning architecture, and breathtaking landscapes as

Leggi Tutto »


There are many interesting things to see in Malta! Some of thehighlights include Valletta, the capital with its unique history andarchitecture, the megalithic temples of

Leggi Tutto »